Not Alone Series: A Day in the Life

I've always loved reading this series hosted by Jen and Morgan but up until now I have never been a contributor! With new goals this year of posting on my blog more regularly, I really want to commit to this series and the wonderful ladies who contribute!


Let's get back in the swing by sharing what our typical day is like! Tell us however you like, minute by minute or a blurb about your day! Be sure to answer these questions: 
- What is your favorite part of your day?
- What is your least favorite part of your day?
- Are you making any changes to your daily routine now that the new year has begun?

Morning:
My typical morning happens really fast, mostly because I would rather avoid city traffic and get to work early than enjoy a leisurely morning. I usually am up between 6:30 and 7:00 a.m. unless I need to be at a school extra early. The colder it gets, the more difficult it gets to get out of bed, mainly because my room is FREEZING. Our house is about 100 years old, so it doesn't heat particularly well, plus my room is rather large and doesn't heat as fast as other spaces in the house. Once I make it out of bed, its dress, make-up/hair, make tea, pack lunch, grab breakfast, bundle up (for now) and head out the door to figure out where I parked my car (yay city living!). Even though I live and work in the city, I still drive to work because I spend a lot of my time visiting different schools around town. Luckily, my commute to my office is only about 15 minutes, so I am usually in the office between 8:00 and 8:30. Once I'm in, I check emails, read the news and drink my tea to start off the day!

Day:
I work as a research assistant in the Department of Children and Adolescent Psychology at a children's hospital, so my job entails a variety of tasks. When I'm not in the office working with data and documents, I am out at a couple of different schools working on two projects implementing mental health initiatives in urban public schools. It takes about 10 minutes in person to describe my projects, so that is a post for another day!

Afternoon/Evening:
Once I leave work, I'm usually home by 5 p.m. I typically don't run errands during the week because I park my car (street parking) around 5 p.m. and I don't want to lose my spot! So evenings have typically been spent at home with my 5 roommates (yep, 5), watching TV, cooking, sometimes going to the gym and just hanging out. There are a few young adult events in my area that I want to join, but haven't gotten around to yet, so hopefully that will change soon! Occasionally we venture into the city for fun city things, but typically week nights are pretty chill. Shower, dinner, TV, read and then off to bed by 10:30/11:00 p.m.!

What is your favorite part of your day?
I really love the people I work with, so my favorite part of my day is usually mid-morning coffee or lunch where we can all catch up and exchange ideas! The same goes for at home. Anytime all the roommates get together to do something (aka hang out in the kitchen or watch a movie) is always the best.

 What is your least favorite part of your day?
Getting out of bed. It. Is. So. Cold.

 Are you making any changes to your daily routine now that the new year has begun?
I am trying to more consistently read a daily devotional in the morning and hit the gym/exercise after work. Also, like Jen said in her post, I'm trying to eliminate screen time before bed (main culprit: Netflix....)

I'm so excited to really dive into this series and get to know more people in this wonderful community!